This was May

(Beastie Boys Always On) Vacation
Mr. WholeHog and I took a little road trip down the California coast. We camped, hiked, explored LA, drank a lot of coffee, and visited some Beastie Boys locations.

roadtrip-bigsurbeacha sunnier view of the coast on our drive back up the coast
la-spanishcactushousea home in LA

Back on the Farm
This is my third year working on the BiRite Farm. I started the May work day with a ham biscuit breakfast at The Fremont Diner and then spent my time in the field planting tomato starts and weeding the onions. Red-tailed hawks and kites flew overhead and the BiRite pigs squealed and grunted until we fed them.

starts

pigs

Seeing Friends, Riding Bikes, & Setting up House
One of my oldest and dearest friends was in California for work in May (she now lives on the East Coast). I got a chance to see her in SF  (she was our first non-family house guest) and then again in Sacramento, where we biked some of the American River bike trail (another flat, beautiful ride!). The bike trail goes for miles through mostly open space areas — a good reminder that not all of Sacramento has been developed.

sac-americanriverAmerican River

I haven’t kept in touch with many old friends (I am not on Facebook) and it’s really nice to spend time with someone who has been a part of my life for so long.

Setting up House
My friend’s visit motivated Mr. WholeHog and I get back on track with some lingering house projects. We put a few more things up on the walls, (finally) picked out new tile for the living room hearth, and ordered a couple new light fixtures.

Early Summer at the Market
I was back at the farmers market (we sold roses on Mother’s Day). Summer produce and stone fruit (apricots, peaches, nectarines) arrived at the market weeks earlier than usual.

roses
peaches-may13
Getting Out of the House
I don’t always take advantage of the many, many things to do in SF but in May, I spent a little more time out of my usual work/yoga/farmers market circuit. I went to Pop-Up Magazine and also to a fascinating City Arts & Lectures talk between David Chang (of Momofuku, Lucky Peach) and David Simon (The Wire, Treme) at the new Nourse Theater. I got in one last visit to the SF MOMA (which is closing for two years while the museum adds a new space): on our way home from friends’ wedding celebration in SOMA, Mr. WholeHog and I realized that SF MOMA was open all night so we took an unexpected second trip through the Garry Winogrand photography exhibit at 11pm.

popupmagimage from http://www.popupmagazine.com

Leave a Reply

