Dogwoods

Spring looks different in the foothills of California than on the coast. On a recent trip to Grass Valley and Nevada City to visit my parents and in-laws, the whole area was full of dogwoods.

dogwood-pink

dogwood-white

Dogwoods are one of my favorite trees. They are always a true sign of spring to me and they’re one of the (few) things I miss about where I grew up. (I was excited to see a dogwood at SF’s Flora Grubb nursery recently, but the guy working there said that it wasn’t a variety that would normally survive in SF. He said the “Cloud 9” dogwood might be OK in SF but it grows 35 feet high — a little much for our little garden.)

IMG_1567

Beyond the dogwoods, there were other signs of spring. My parents’ apple trees were in bloom (that’s an Arkansas Black apple tree pictured below), and the peonies had giant buds the size of golf balls and were almost ready to bloom.

appleblossom

peony-open

Leave a Reply

