Anthem

Yesterday as Mr. WholeHog and I were walking down Valencia Street, we noticed that a school had begun planting some vegetables in a narrow strip of dirt between the school and the sidewalk. I first noticed the corn stalks poking out of this planter, but it was the words written on the side of the planter that stopped me in my tracks.

To my delight, someone had written one of my very favorite Leonard Cohen lyrics on the side of the planter, lyrics that I’d turned to many times over this last difficult month:

Ring the bells that still can ring,
Forget your perfect offering.
There is a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in.

Leave a Reply

