Frisco Christmas

Maybe it’s because I spent most of 2009 missing San Francisco that I’m particularly enamored of these SF-based gifts. If you want to get super local or if you’ve got a native San Franciscan on your list this year, consider some of these San Francisco treats:

4505 Meats is perhaps best known for their chicharrones (and they are outrageously good — and a perfect stocking stuffer), but their pork-focused merchandise is just as memorable. Their ‘Frisco Pig was a Friend of Mine’ print is on my Christmas list this year. It’s available online or at the Thursday Ferry Building Farmers Market.

At the Bizarre Bazaar in Golden Gate Park recently, my favorite discovery was Gangs of San Francisco. These shirts highlight San Francisco’s crazy past and will test your knowledge of SF history.  I couldn’t resist buying myself the Playland at the Beach shirt, pictured above, but I had to ask my mom, an SF native, about Fleishacker pool. (If you don’t have an SF native nearby, the website explains the origin of each shirt. I still can’t believe The Chutes — an 1895-era waterslide in the Haight!)

SF’s cable cars get so much attention, but I really love the vintage F-line streetcars. The Market Street Railway store (online or in the museum at 77 Steuart St in San Francisco) has lots of gifts that celebrate these old school trolleys. I’m partial to the prints of different street cars in different areas of the City: the Ferry Building, the Castro Theater, Chinatown. I gave Mr. WholeHog the Castro poster one year to commemorate our years living in the Castro. You’ll also find old Kezar Stadium shirts and I spotted some Kezar pint glasses the last time I was in the store.

Leave a Reply

