Collect The Moments One By One

I don’t like New Year’s Eve as a holiday. There’s too much pressure to have the BEST day of the year be the last day of the year. But although 2008 year-in-review pieces are all over the place right now, I do like the chance to take stock and remember what moments, foods, travels, etc, made up that particular year.

For me, 2008 was pretty eventful year: I got engaged, went to Italy, and saw my sister move to S.F. after over four years in New York. A year ago this week, we saw our friends off to Oregon, and in their absence, we found time to explore the Bay Area more, spending our weekends hiking on Mt. Tam or in the Marin Headlands.

2008 Discoveries

  • Bay Area Hiking – We unfortunately didn’t get in any camping this year. But we did lots of hiking, discovering a favorite trail on Mt. Tam, exploring the Headlands, seeing osprey and a waterfall in the Marin Municipal Water District, and wandering the hills above Muir Beach.
  • International wines – In Italy, I gained an appreciation for decent, low cost wines, and we’ve continued drinking more international wines this year.
  • Vintage pyrex- Something about the bright colors and old patterns appeals more to me than the boring old stuff available today.
  • Good Society jeans
  • Fatted Calf’s store at Oxbow Market
  • Homemade Granola
  • Breakfast at Blue Bottle’s Mint Plaza Cafe
  • Anchovies! In the Cinque Terre, I learned to love acciughe (anchovies).

Re-Discovered in 2008

Ashtanga yoga – I practiced ashtanga when I first started yoga seven years ago. But this year, I came back to ashtanga and remembered what I loved about it. I also gained a tremendous teacher and new friends.

Pilates – With my sister teaching, I found myself back on the mat or on the reformer about once a week.

2008 On the Road

We got engaged in Point Reyes on a sunny weekend trip in March, but Italy was our big trip of the year. Going overseas ate up most of our vacation time and kept other vacations closer to home. Having 2 weeks off really felt like a vacation. If you can, take a 2 week trip somewhere in 2009.

A full week up at Tahoe with my extended family was a splurge. Heading back up to the lake in September, the almost off-season, was dreamy.

We went to Eugene, Oregon in October to see our friends, but my favorite fall excursion was spending my birthday weekend in Calistoga.

2008 At the Table

I tried a number of new-to-me restaurants this year: Laiola, SPQR, Bar Jules, Dona Tomas, Little Star Pizza, Uva, Berretta, Ad Hoc, La Ciccia, Chenery Park. But my favorite meals this year weren’t in normal restaurants at all. Instead, they were from Primavera, eaten outside at the farmers market, or at 18 Reasons, an art/event space run by our friends at BiRite. We attended what had  to be the best dinner party in town at 18 Reasons: dinner with wine, beer and cheesemaker Fritz Maytag. My best meal of the year was at the home of a butcher in Chianti: a six-course meal of meat at Solocicca.

2008 Soundtrack

Music often took a backseat to This American Life this year. But I listened to Jim White, Bonnie Prince Billy, Fleet Foxes, and whatever else Mr. WholeHog played for me.

2008 Bookmobile

My reading habits are sadly on a steep decline. It took me a good 6 months to finish the new David Sedaris — a book that should have been polished off in one afternoon. I took Haruki Murakami’s After Dark to Italy, but it didn’t do much for me. The one book I still think about is Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri.

(I posted my 2007 list until late last year but if you feel like reviewing it, click here.)

Leave a Reply

