So This is Christmas

Last year, my sister woke me up on Christmas morning and told me not to get up yet because the dog had had diarrhea in the kitchen.

Even though the dog was on antibiotics this year, I was a little nervous when I woke up on Christmas morning to my mom opening the window blinds. “You don’t have to get up,” she said. “But you should see this.”

Outside, it was snowing. The snowflakes were huge and came down in a flurry. I watched for a while from my warm bed, trying to remember how many years it’d been since we had a white Christmas or since I’d seen it snow like this.

xmas-snow1

It continued to snow while we opened our stockings and while dad made his famous pancakes. But by the afternoon, the snow had turned to rain and mostly washed away.

Leave a Reply

