Year in Review 2007

I used to diligently keep a journal but these day I usually only manage one entry a year: a New Year’s entry. It’s essentially a list of what I loved that particular year: the songs I couldn’t stop listening to, the books that I still think about, the places I traveled, my favorite foods.

Of course much of my travels, meals and interests in 2007 made its way onto this page in some way, like my interest in farmers markets and eating locally, my love of San Francisco, and even a few of the books read.

But my new obsessions in 2007 consisted of:

2007 Discoveries
NY Times Sunday Crosswords
Etsy.com
The Wire
Alameda Flea Market
Mrs. Meyers rose geranium scent (at one point, we had geranium candles, laundry detergent, dryer sheets and hand soap!)
Neti Pot

2007 On The Road
To my surprise, I found that I loved brisk New York City in February. The down jacket I bought for that trip is one of the very best things I’ve ever bought. It’s come in handy many times since NYC.

Portland, OR provided my best hotel experience yet: the Ace Hotel was right up my alley, with its vintage furnishings and the lyrics of Leonard Cohen’s Suzanne on the wall.

Lake Tahoe: always the year’s best trip.

Family Road trip: Atlanta, Savannah, Charleston, Outer Banks, NC, Washington DC.

2007 At the Table
My best meals of the year were at Primavera, eaten outside in sun and in rain, our plates on our laps rather on a table. Delfina Pizzeria kept us sated and happy Sunday through Friday.

2007 was a tremendous year in sweets. Salted licorice! Caramel panna cotta! Chocolate and bacon, together in one freaky bar! It nearly made my whole year to hear one of the employees refer to Mr. WholeHog and I as regulars at Miette Confiserie.

BiRite Creamery was an all-out addiction: cinnamon, salted caramel, malted vanilla with peanut brittle.

2007 Soundtrack
Fiest
Funeral – Band of Horses
The Ride – Joan As Police Woman
Young Folks – Peter Bjorn John

Favorite Show Moment: Yo La Tengo playing Fleetwood Mac’s Rumors at the KUSF Anniversary Show.

2007 Bookmobile
My most miserable year of reading fiction: loved Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (Jonathan Safran Foer) and enjoyed Then We Came to the End (Joshua Ferris).

Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver was a little like a light version of The Omnivore’s Dilemma, but it motivated me to start preserving and canning this year. Our freezer is now stocked with the summer’s corn, tomatoes and berries.

One Response to “Year in Review 2007”

  1. Collect The Moments One By One « Whole Hog Says:

    […] (I posted my 2007 list until late last year but if you feel like reviewing it, click here.) […]

Leave a Reply

