Take a Piece of the Pie

On my 6th birthday, I requested pumpkin pie instead of cake. My aunt still teases me about it — she thought it was so weird that a kid liked pumpkin pie. But I’m proud that I knew so early on that I preferred pie to cake. I still go for pie over cake (and even though my birthday usually falls a week before Thanksgiving, my mom still makes me a pumpkin pie every year.)

Thanksgiving is a pretty perfect holiday in my book because pie is such an integral part of it. You get to eat pie for dessert, then watch David Letterman to find out what pies his mom baked for Thanksgiving, and then in my family, you eat more pie in the morning for breakfast.

But a good pie is surprisingly hard to find – and believe me, I’m always on the look out for a good pie. We stopped recently at a little diner in Point Reyes because we’d heard they made a good pie, but it was disappointing. Some swear by Duarte’s in Pescadero, but I didn’t think their pie was worth writing home about.

My hometown used to have a great pie shop. Every summer, I looked forward to a slice of their ollalieberry pie. But sadly, the shop closed, replaced with a crummy Quiznos.

As luck would have it, I soon met a champion pie baker: Mr. WholeHog’s mom. And happily, most of our trips up to visit her tend to be pie-worthy occasions, like a birthday or Thanksgiving.

If there is one thing I’m thankful for, each year at Thanksgiving, it’s her pies. Of course, I’m grateful for a lot of other things, too. Like the health of my family, particularly since close family friends of ours have been plagued with illness and loss this year.

But that begs the question: is life without pie worth living? Perhaps I’ll think about that this year, when I’m eating pie for dessert and again for breakfast.

One Response to “Take a Piece of the Pie”

  1. Debbie Says:

    What a great writer you are, Mrs. WholeHog. I enjoy your blog very much! And I must say, to be a part of the WholeHog family is an honor practically inexpressible. And now, back to the drawing board – ever experimenting with a new combination of butter, crisco, and who knows what else.

Leave a Reply

