Bookmarked: Dad Blogs

I meant to write something for Father’s Day. But I ended up spending Father’s Day with my dad. Instead of writing a post, we went on an SF neighborhood walk.

Neighborhood walks are one of my favorite activities and my dad loves anything that is outside and might count as exercise. The idea is to head out in any direction with no plan in mind. And what you inevitably find is streets you’d never heard of, laden with what may be examples of your new favorite (or least favorite) architecture. Ideally, we happen upon a new view of the city or one of SF’s famed stairways, but if nothing else, we usually end up surprised by how all these little pieces of the city fit together. We ended our walk near his favorite SF taqueria where we loaded up on carnitas tacos.

When my parents went home, I sat down to write about my dad and ended up with pages and pages of text that wasn’t really in any publishable form. I had lists of the funny things he’s worn (fanny packs), the funny things he continues to wear (netted hats), and a list of words or phrases he’s repeated endlessly to mostly his own enjoyment — this list includes quotes from Pulp Fiction, a commercial jingle or two, and a few Neil Young imitations. (This list is also now posted on my fridge and it makes me laugh every time I look at it.) But I didn’t end up with anything that I felt adequately represented my dad.

I’m thinking about dads a lot again, a few weeks after Father’s Day, because I’ve started reading a few blogs written mostly by stay at home dads. Head on over and drink the parenting kool-aid:

Cry It Out chronicles the adventures of an SF dad. I should admit that a good friend of mine knows this couple quite well and I think I’ve met them once, pre-child. But the blog makes you feel like they are your new best friends.

I started reading a bit of Sweet Juniper a few months ago when the family’s super-modern Detroit apartment was featured on a design blog I like (Designsponge? Apartment Therapy?) but I come back to this site for a hit of the parenting stories.

These are no ordinary dads. Mike learned to sew so that he could make his daughter clothes (following a mortifying experience of his daughter appearing at the playground in the same ironic $30 onesie as another kid). Dutch makes his daughter cardboard cars per her request and he responded to her request to see a list of people (real and fictional) pooping (this is by far the best thing I’ve seen today!).

One Response to “Bookmarked: Dad Blogs”

  1. cryitout Says:

    Hey, thanks for the kind words! And I’m just dying to know — which couple?

    All best,

    Mike

Leave a Reply

