this is a type of kinda like a formal dedication

 

magnet_train_lg.gif Giving out a shout for much inspiration…

Image from http://www.beastieboys.com 

As I’ve tried to make clear in my few early posts, I’m a more than a little obsessed with the Beastie Boys. You Might Think That I’m A Fanatic.

It’s hard to explain my obsession to those who still associate the Beasties with the juvenile antics of their earlier albums or with the yoga-fied lyrics in some of the later albums. But their music has been a part of my life since 5th grade when I memorized all the lyrics to Paul Revere, and unlike most bands, the Beasties have stayed with me. There were times I wasn’t as into them but I always came back. And I often found that albums that didn’t initially resonate with me became the albums I relied on most. They’re still what I turn to when I’m feeling down or having a hard time.

I’ve been through many times
In which I thought I might lose it
The only thing that saved me
Has always been music

The humor in the lyrics makes me laugh even when I don’t feel like laughing, their politics make me feel like I’m not alone in this nightmare, and the beats get me moving again when I feel terribly stuck.

Of course, there’s a lot of ego in their music, too, as much as they’ve tried to let that go, and hear it gives me a jolt of confidence. Sometimes I need that reminder to

Take A Piece Of The Pie, Why Not, I’m Not Quitting
Think I’m Gonna Change Up My Style Just To Fit In

On a day like today, for example, when I Think I’m Losing My Mind This Time, This time, I’m losing my mind and I’m ready to tell my manager what I really think (You can kiss my ass you funky boss!), I can put on my headphones and feel renewed and ready to deal with the world again.

Today is even better, though, because in my email, there’s a confirmation for two tickets I bought in this morning’s presale to see the Beastie’s (cold kickin’ it live!) in August.

800px-beastie_boys.jpg

Leave a Reply

